Latest News and Tips for the CAASPP Administration

  1. Appeals and roster processing will not be available from 7 a.m. through 9 a.m. Pacific time on Saturday, May 28, 2016, to perform unscheduled maintenance to improve the upload process. (Posted 5/27/16.)
  2. Please note that we have opened registration for the Post-Test Workshops in three new remote locations in the following county offices of education: Kern, Humboldt, and Sonoma. The workshops taking place at these remote locations will allow participants to view the PowerPoint presentation and hear the live presentation, but there will be no ETS staff in person. There will be a short opportunity for a couple of questions to be answered from each remote location during the presentation. A continental breakfast and afternoon snack will be provided at all locations.
  3. The preliminary test results for the 2015–16 Smarter Balanced Online Summative Assessments in English language arts/literacy and mathematics are now available in the California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP) Online Reporting System (ORS) and Test Operations Management System (TOMS). Please keep in mind that these results are partial and may not be a good representation of your local educational agency’s or school’s final aggregate results and are, therefore, not appropriate for public release. Quick Start Guides are available on the Reports and Reporting Web page. See the e-mail sent on May 2, 2016, for additional information. (Posted 5/10/16.)
  4. All local educational agencies (LEAs) must verify that their California Longitudinal Pupil Achievement Data System (CALPADS) data are up to date for all students as soon as possible. This will ensure that all aggregate summary data will accurately reflect the student population on the CAASPP public reporting Web site. Starting on April 27, 2016, Educational Testing Service will create a “snapshot” of each LEA’s demographic data on the date the LEA’s selected testing window closes. (Posted 5/10/16.)
  5. During peak testing times, California Alternate Assessments test examiners may experience short delays in the availability of English language arts/literacy and mathematics tests for a student after submitting the Survey of Student Characteristics (SSC). (Posted 4/21/16.)
  6. Register now for the 2015–16 CAASPP Post-Test Workshops: Connecting Assessments to Instruction. See the registration e-mail for additional details. (Posted 5/02/16.)
  7. Directions for Administration for the California Alternate Assessments are available for download from the Test Operations Management System. Version assignments are also available. (Updated 4/11/16.)
  8. Chrome version 49 and iOS 9.3 are both now supported for the secure browser. (Posted 4/06/16.)
  9. Please note that the Google Chrome Web browser provides the best user experience when accessing the Digital Library. (Posted 3/01/16.)
  10. Online registration for the Weekend Operational Scoring Workshops is now available. Each one-day, in-person training is offered at eight locations throughout California. Each workshop location will consist of six different content area/grade band sessions. Three content area/grade band sessions will be offered on Saturday, and the remaining content area/grade band sessions will occur on Sunday. You will need to register to attend the workshop for the content area/grade band you wish to score and may only register for one content area/grade band training session. Those local educational agency (LEA) CAASPP coordinators interested in training for an additional content area/grade band should contact the California Technical Assistance Center (CalTAC) for availability (others should contact their LEA CAASPP coordinators for assistance). See the e-mail sent to LEA CAASPP coordinators for additional information. (Posted 3/01/16.)
  11. California educators who are interested in handscoring 2015–16 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Summative Assessments for English language arts/literacy (ELA) (short text and essay responses) or mathematics (short text responses) should visit the ETS Scoring Job Opportunities Web page for ELA for grades three to five and grade eleven and mathematics for grades six to eight and grade eleven, or the Measurement Inc. 2016 California Teachers New Applicants Web page for ELA for grades six to eight and mathematics for grades three to five. Note that educators who were handscorers for the 2014–15 CAASPP administration must reapply to handscore for the 2015–16 CAASPP administration. (Posted 3/04/16.)
  12. For 2015–16, several new user roles are available within TOMS. Please refer to the 2015–16 User Role Guidance document, a short reference sheet for local educational agency (LEA) CAASPP and test site coordinators to use when identifying the appropriate user roles for staff at their site.

California Testing in 2015–16

California local educational agency (LEA) testing coordinators can use this Web site to find helpful information, instructions, training, forms, and external links for the 2015–16 test administration.

LEAs are administering three types of tests in 2015–16:

Smarter Balanced Tests:
  • English language arts/literacy and mathematics in grades three through eight and grade eleven
California Alternate Assessments
  • Tests in English–language arts and mathematics in grades three through eight and grade eleven
Paper-pencil tests:
  • California Standards Tests (CSTs) for Science—grades five, eight, and ten
  • California Modified Assessment (CMA) for Science—grades five, eight, and ten who meet the eligibility requirements to take this instead of a CST for Science
  • California Alternate Performance Assessment (CAPA) for Science—grades five, eight, and ten who meet the CAPA requirements
  • Standards-based Tests in Spanish (STS) for Reading/Language Arts—grades through eleven (optional)